Arlo was born in November 2012 and found abandoned when he was around 3.5 months old. He has been diagnosed with congenital optic atrophy of both eyes.


At the age of 4 months Arlo could listen to sounds carefully and responded to loud sounds. At the age of 7 months he could wave his hands and feet when happy, and he liked sucking his fingers. He could smile when being kissed or played with. At the age of 10 months he could roll over and make sounds.

At the age of 13 months (when his report was written) Arlo could sit alone, move from sitting to lying down and could crawl backward. He liked toys that made sound and could move a ball from hand to hand, he could clap and understood simple conversations. He could recognize familiar caretaker’s voices and knew his own name. He liked talking with his caretaker and listened to songs carefully.

He rarely cried and liked to suck his fingers to fall asleep. Arlo was said to be able to track light with both eyes. He could crawl, got along well with others and was fond of playing games. His favorite toys were balls, bells and a toy drum.


How is his mental ability compared to peers of the same age?  He has congenital optic nerve atrophy, but his mental ability is the same as healthy kids of the same age.

Is he potty trained?  Not yet, he relies on diapers.

Please describe his personality in details.  Quiet and gentle.

Is he well behaved and obedient?  He is a good boy, obedient and gentle.

How are his gross motor skills?   When you hold his hand, he can walk, or he can make it when he has support.

How are his fine motor skills? Can he draw or scribble on paper? Can he pick up little things with his fingers?  He can make it.

Is he in any kind of school? If so, what school? Can he catch up in school?  Not yet, but he learns from the nannies who take care of him.

How is his emotional development?   Very good, he is attached to his nannies. When interacting with others, he will follow the sound and smile happily.

How are his social skills?   Very good.

Is he under foster care or living in the orphanage?  In the orphanage, under the care of nannies.

How is the language ability of the child?   He cannot speak yet, but he can understand adults’ instructions.

Can the child follow directions of adults?  He can understand nannies’ instructions.

Anything else you think the family should know about the child?  No.

Is the child on any medication?  No.

What is the daily schedule of the child?  Get up at 6ambreakfast at 7amhave fun in the playroom at between 8am and 11amlunch at 11amnap time between 12:00pm and 14:00pm, have fun in the playroom between 14:00pm and 17:00pmshower at 18:00pmdinner at 19:00pmsleep at 21:00pm.

What does the child eat? Can he feed himself?  Breakfastcongee, noodle, steamed bread, Baozi, cakes; lunch: rice plus meat and veggies; dinner: rice plus meat and veggies. Nannies feed him every meal, and he doesn’t receive any training to eat by himself. He can drink water and juice on his own.

Does the child know any English? No

Does the child want to be adopted? Does the child understand what adoption means?  Yes, he wants to be adopted and have a family. If he can be adopted, we would like to tell him.

What color does the child like?  Due to his vision defect, he cannot see anything, but he is very sensitive and happy to sounds and body touch.

What activity does the child like to do?  Those activities related to body touch, like touching PT balls.

What is the favorite toy of the child?  He is sensitive to sounds and loves those toys with sounds.



PLEASE MAKE SURE YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IS ENTERED CORRECTLY BEFORE SUBMITTING.  If you don’t have a reply from this web site within 24 hours you may have provided an incorrect email address.